The Beautiful City of Toledo

It’s 7:30 am and my alarm is ringing. Why? No one should have to wake up this early on a Saturday. Then I remembered, today is my group excursion to the city of Toledo! Meet at the buses at nine in the morning, “al punto,” as my teacher would say. One hour later and we arrived at our destination. What a sight for sore eyes this city is. Located high on green hilltops, Toledo is connected with an arched stone bridge and surrounded by the Tagus River giving it a moat-like appearance. I thought I was about to step inside a fairytale, one that used to hold executions in the main plaza (de Zocodover)…

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Roomie love

Our group representing FAU

Image

Image

Toledo is famous for making swords and armor.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Like a boss.

Image

Image

Image

Image

The weather was a bit rainy and chillier than expected.

Image

ImageImage

ImageImageImageImage

Image

ImageImageImageImageImageImage

We were all constantly gazing up at the incredibly embellished ceilings.

ImageImageImage

Sandwich break!Image

We had an hour and a half of free time for lunch, so we decided to let our taste buds guide us to a panaderia — bakery —after we ate our sandwiches. We sat outside a cute little bakery and enjoyed ice cream, and a dessert specially made from Toldeo: Toledanas, Mazapan de Toldeo, and Mazapan de Chocolate. Yum.

ImageImage

ImageImageImageImageImage

Frolicking in the garden

ImageImageImageImage

Found this cute little guy in a tree

Image

A mini replica of the city, Toledo

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

All the kids from Estudio SampereImageImageImageImageImageImage

Two of my housemates are leaving tomorrow, so dinner tonight was particularly special. We enjoyed lasagna, salad, fried calamari, and fresh bread. I’ve come to learn that eating bread with every meal in Madrid is as common as drinking water.

ImageImageImageImageImage

Devoured!

Image

For dessert, pudding-like flan, or flan-like pudding, I couldn’t decide which suited it better.

Image

15 thoughts on “The Beautiful City of Toledo

  1. Did you take the huge escalator up the city? No one realizes its there but it’s very useful! Beautiful photos yet again Lamise. You never cease to amaze me.

  2. Lammouse, Save some appetite for Lebanon. You look so happy and relaxed in those pictures. I am glad you are having a wonderful time. Abbbbazing pictures. That’s my girl. Love you. Your dad

  3. Wow, everything looks so amazing, from the food to the scenery! Hope you’re enjoying your time and learning a lot! You’re doing a great job 🙂

  4. I gotta say, by far the most incredible place, I’ve seen. All captured in photos by you. Amazing! My favorite is the unicorn carving in the church -so cute & seems odd that it’s there,but amazing!
    The city is so beautiful! & the gardens… still in awe!

    Can’t wait to keep on reading your posts!

    xox

    • Thanks cami 🙂 Toledo was gorgeous, I don’t think I’ve ever been to a city like that before, I felt like I walked back in time! And the unicorn carving was a little odd hahah but cool!

  5. I’m so glad my friend showed this blog to me, these pictures are phenomenal! And that lasagna, omg. Looks great! 🙂

Leave a Reply

