Not all who wander are lost

Today was a quite morning. My kind of Sunday morning. The apartment was still as I got up to have breakfast by myself. I didn’t mind it; in fact I kind of liked it. It’s those rare moments of silence when I can let my stream of thoughts flow, even enjoy them. And as I sat under at the table, sunlight crept through the window shades and  I realized — today is Sunday, I’ve already been in Madrid for a week!

It then occurred to me you guys might be curious as to what my new cozy home looks like, so here it is.

Breakfast first

Image

FYI: the brown bits are chocolate chips, I’ve found my new favorite cereal.

Image

Casie and I are not the only girls to have stayed at Sol’s house, she’s been doing this since 1998. No wonder  she does such a great job, the proof is on the tack-board.

Image

The cat, Diana, enjoying some tea with me

Image

The living room

Image

The cute winding stairwell that leads up to Sol, her husband Jose, and son’s rooms

Image

Study area and the door to the third bedroom for visiting studentsImage

Dining table and Diana (again)

Image

Quaint little bathroom

Image

Mine and Casie’s bedroom, but you’ve seen that already.

Image

Entrance to the kitchen, my favorite room

ImageImage

Good old-fashioned line-drying

ImageImage

Hallway leading to the front door entrance and dining/living room

Image

Balcony from the dining room table, I love it

Image

I had the itch to go on a run this morning, it’s been over a week since I had the pleasure of hitting the pavement.

Image

Note to self: Don’t go running without a map in a city you’re not familiar with. I’ve never been one good with directions, but I figured if I just ran straight down the street and straight back, I’d be fine. I even timed myself, 15 minutes up the street, so it should only take me another 15 minutes to get back down. Half an hour passed . I should be getting back to Principe de Vergara — the street adjacent to where I live — soon.

50 minutes passed. All I can say is, thank god I have a roomie who was willing to meet me at the nearest metro stop to ride back home with me! At least it was a pleasant run, the weather was cool and I saw some interesting things. Not to mention its only 1:30 pm and I already got my workout in for the day. But I definitely won’t be doing that by myself again.

Image

Ran by this store, hoping they sell peanut butter so I can buy some next time. People here think it’s weird. I think it’s the best thing invented since toilet paper.

Image

I believe this was a sign from Nadal, telling me I can find my way home. He was wrong.

Image

Saw what looked to be Pro-Palestine protestors on bicycles

Image

Boredom kicking in as I waited for Casie to find me

Image

Image

And then he dropped it..

Image

Casie and I were going to go to the Museo Del Prada this afternoon, but ended up taking a wrong turn and walked through the Retiro Park instead. That makes the second time I got lost today. But this time, I didn’t mind it.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

The Mad Hatter was having tea at the Retiro Park, it was my unlucky-lucky day!

ImageImage

After the park, Sol and her husband Jose picked us up in their car and drove us through the city and the Calle De Campos where there are pretty nature trails, a zoo, and even an amusement park.

Sol and Jose 🙂

Image

Love this lady

Image

Esta lluviendo! It was raining during the car ride home, and pretty much all day.

Image

Dinner time! I was starving after my unexpectedly long run today.

Image

Pescado blanco con verduras-white fish with vegetables.

Image

Also, a fried egg with white rice. I’m digging the variety at dinner.

Image

Image

Image

Love this flan, especially with the dried pineapples. I have to remember to buy some when I’m back home

Image

2 thoughts on “Not all who wander are lost

  1. Oh I remember we talked a bit this day! I’m glad you enjoyed your run, even though you got lost! Everything happens for a reason right? Maybe next Sunday you’ll find your way back home! lol
    Also, your hosts look like they are the sweetest people, Sol is beautiful and has the kindest smile. The fish dish reminded me of my meals in Costa Rica. Mmmm I think I could become a pescatarian. 🙂

    • Hahah I was planning on running to a park nearby, but Sol showed me how to get there on a map so hopefully next time I won’t get lost! And she is the sweetest, the whole family is! By the way, that fish was my absolute favorite I’ve ever had, this will be the first recipe I get!

Leave a Reply

