19 days left

To some of you back home, that may seem like a while. But to someone who has just made a new home in a foreign country, I know 19 days will disappear faster than a glass of milk in a room full of Oreo cookies. I realize this as I sit en mi habitacion/bedroom — sorry, I tend to think in Spanish now that I’ve been living here for 23 days — about to study for my Spanish final exam that I this morning.

It’s hard to believe I’m already more than halfway through my study abroad program, but I still have so much to look forward to and do! Including sharing my 100’s of pictures from my day in the city of Granada last Sunday. Yeah, I take a lot of pictures. Fortunately for you and unfortunately for me, this means narrowing down my photographs to the “crème de la crème”. School must come first, though. So as I prepare myself for today’s test, enjoy a little sneak preview of what’s to come from my visit to Granada, the city famous for its lavish Palace of Alhambra!

Overview of the city from atop the palaceImage

They sell things like loose-leaf tea in the streets of Granada

Image

Homes, restaurants, and shops look like this

Image

Happy to be in Granada! The Alhambra Palace is off to the top right corner. That meant a long and hot hike up, but totally worth it!

Image

I’d say about 90% of the streets there are made from stone like this. Pretty to look at, but killer on your feet.

Image

I can’t even begin to explain the beauty of the gardens in the palace…

Image

…And fountains.

Image

Arched doorways, common Arab architecture

Image

A glimpse of part of the palace grounds

Image

All the walls in the palace looked like this. Amazing.

ImageImage

My brain-food from last night. Feeling even more at home with this yummy homestyle mac ‘n cheese and crispy fried chicken!

A-choose your dessert night-varying from fruit to flan and pudding. Naturally, I grab a banana but eventually give in to the sweet callings of vanilla pudding…an excellent mix.

One thought on “19 days left

Leave a Reply

